Uncategorized

“You Look Like a Boy”

“You’re sure you want to go through with this?” a voice said, coming from across the salon. It was my mother, sitting on the couch in the waiting area of our local hair salon. Shannon, my hairdresser, had me seated in front a mirror and was cleaning the gun. “Yes, mom. Every other girl in my class has her ears pierced.”

An image flashed into my mind. It was of who, well, who I thought my best friend was, laughing at me with her new best friend. “If you’re a girl, then why is your hair short?” my new classmate asked sharply. She stared at me, impatiently waiting for an answer. “I don’t know.” I responded. “Yeah, and where are your earrings?” She cocked her head to the side, her blonde hair dangling just past her shoulder. I looked down and shrugged. “I don’t know.” I repeated. They scoffed and pranced away to play on the playground, as it was recess at school in third grade. Tears grew in the bottom of my eyes. I turned and walked towards the school. There was a small porch entrance where doors to a mudroom used to be. The doors were blocked off and a wall was placed. Once I reached the corner of the porch, the tears began to fall down my cheeks.

“So what colour of earrings would you like?” Shannon asked, headed towards the back room of the salon. I turned and looked back towards my mother. She and I both smirked. She knew what colour I wanted. “Purple, please!” I said with a big smile. “Okay, sounds good.” she responded.

Another image flashed. I was in my 4th grade classroom, first thing in the morning. I was sitting at my desk, waiting for class to start. A girl in my class walked in. She looked different…in a good way. Was it her hair? Not that. Something with her face. She walked closer to me. Her eyelashes. They were darker, and longer. I went home that day and asked my mother for longer eyelashes. The following day, I returned to school with brown mascara applied to my eyelashes. I thought it looked so gorgeous. The girl who had worn mascara the day before came up to me and examined my face. “Why don’t you wear any make up?” she asked. “I am!” I stated proudly, finally feeling as though I had done something right. “I’m wearing mascara.” The girl looked closer. “You’re wearing the wrong colour. It looks weird.” I frowned as she turned and pranced away. Tears filled in my eyes. I could never do anything quite right it seemed.

A few minutes later, Shannon returned with purple studs with stainless steal, gold stems. Okay, you ready? “Yes!” I replied excitedly. By this point, every other girl in my classroom had their ears pierced. After 3 years of being picked on and told that I look like a boy, this was my chance to finally fit in. Shannon held the piercing gun to my ear. I scrunched my eyes shut. “Now, just relax. You’re going to feel a small pinch.” My facial muscles released tension and I relaxed. A small, sharp pinch hit my ear. Then it got hot. Shannon went to the next ear. Again, sharp pinch then hot. I opened my eyes. Though my ears were quite red, out shone the purple studded earrings that would finally determine my gender. Well, I had thought so at least.

3 thoughts on ““You Look Like a Boy””

  1. Tori,

    I would like to start off by saying that you picked a very well fitting title for your story. It made very interested in what you had to say and kept me reading until the end! As for the story itself, I sympathize with you, because I know many others, including myself, who went through very similar events. I applaud you for taking that step of vulnerability and sharing with us specific moments in your early life that were not so great. Bullies are a tough thing to deal with. Do you still have your ears pierced? Do you like them? Do you think you would have gotten your ears pierced later in life, because you wanted to (not because you felt pressured to)?

    See you Tuesday,

    Elissa!

    Like

Leave a comment